The Unchained Show

The Unchained Show with Derek 7-8pm Friday 4th November 2022

today3 November 2022 85

share close

An hour of mixed Music, usually with a theme – genre, decade, facts & history, instrument focus, pioneers & game changers.

A dedicated slot featuring new artists & bands, gig updates and announcements across this show and the station.

Get in touch via: to be featured on the shows & station


Garrington T Jones

Garrington T Jones is a performer and recording artist who gives the art of lyrical storytelling a modern day edge.

Garrington has released three studio albums; “Abyssinia” (Oct 2017), “Dead Roses” (Sept 2019) and “The Odd Box” (Nov 2021). His songs are played on radio stations across Europe and Australia and on streaming services around the world. Garrington has collaborated with a number of musicians, most notably rapper Norbs Blade and fellow songwriter, Emily Ewing and he also fronts a Midlands based blues band called Stripped Down Blues.

Garrington recently embarked on a venture to save the lost tracks of “The Aviators”, a New Wave band that he was a member of back in the late 1970’s. The old recordings by The Aviators were found in a cellar on several reel tapes, have now been carefully re-recorded with producer Dave Draper and released on an EP called “The Danceable Solution”, that is available on all major streaming services. Garrington currently resides in the market town of Ledbury in the County of Herefordshire with his two fur boy chums, Ned & Robbie.

Deaf Ben

DEAF BEN are a new transatlantic funk rock duo, consisting of Lloyd Birch and Dave Cotterill.

Lloyd, who is based in Los Angeles, and Dave, who lives in Stourbridge, are friends of more than 20 years, having met at college and later playing in bands together between 1998 and 2004. During this time, they could regularly be seen on the Birmingham and Black Country gig circuit, thumping out their own brand of funk rock, inspired by the likes of Rage Against the Machine, Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Reef.

In 2005, Lloyd moved to LA, and began writing and recording his own music. His first solo single – ‘People Say’ – was released in 2018 under the name Average Apes, with his latest single ‘Fade Away’ released earlier this year.

Dave went on to form and play in a number of other bands, including Into the Hurricane, My Own Agenda, and Left Hand Man, as well as writing and recording his own material.

Having kept in close contact over the past 15 years, the pair decided to reunite following the outbreak of Covid-19. For many bands and artists, the pandemic presented both challenges and opportunities. Dave and Lloyd put their time in lockdown to good use, channelling their musical creativity into their new project, Deaf Ben.

Despite being more than 5,000 miles apart, the result was electric and so the band’s melodic funk rock style was born. Dave and Lloyd play all instruments and record themselves in their private studios.

Deaf Ben’s first single ‘Sign it Back’ was released in  Summer 2020 followed by ‘Kerosene’ in February 2021

Available on all major streaming platforms.

A new EP is in the works!


CLKWRK is a band that exists with a mantra: combining Blues and rock with electronic music by creating every sound – electronic and organic – themselves, live.
Every synth and every electronic sound created on the fly with guitars, live electronic drums and effects. No laptops, no sequences, no pre-recorded parts, no exceptions. Humans imitating machines.

The journey to be able to release this music to the world has been a long one though. Three years of exploring sounds, writing music, recording songs and discovering their musical identity, and a huge UK wide tour with US Rock Legends Electric Six.
Produced by themselves and mixed by Chris Coulter (Arcane Roots, Jamie Lenman), with music videos, imagery and new releases underpinning their intense release schedule, tracks from the band’s first wave of releases (Namely ‘Fractures’ and ‘Rust’ and was released to critical acclaim with multiple plays on Planet Rock, Kerrang! Radio and lots more.
With their sights set on touring in the second half of 2022 The band are hugely excited to release new music.
Band members:

Nick Pilgrim – Vocals & Guitar
Adam Broadhurst – Guitar & Guitar Synth
Danny Higgins – Bass
Romas Masteika – Drums

Written by: Derek

Rate it